Is Google the New Microsoft?

September 4, 2008 at 6:41 am 1 comment

Over the last few years Google have stucked their paws into every single pie (kind of like Tesco) and quite rapidly they’ve grown and grown but, their clean interfaces, the fact their software is free and their relatively cool logo have stopped the majority of people hating them. Of course, they’re a competitor to Microsoft which is another reason people don’t dislike them but, now, I see them as becoming the new Microsoft. I don’t mean that in terms of growth but more so in terms of delivering up shit software and too much of it. Google was once innovative but now, it isn’t. All they’re doing is taking existing services and slapping a google logo on it. Google Talk for example. What’s the point? It’s no better than MSN, AOL or Yahoo chat. In fact Meebo is much better than any of these. Google Chrome? Well, if you can get it to work I’m sure it may be faster but, really? Is that it? For something completely redesigned and built from scratch, it’s hardly that much different to what’s already out there. The HTC-Google phone, well, will that be all that great? Is it going to be yet another iClone? Probably not but, it’s probably going to be relatively similar. As much as I detest Apple, at least they delivered innovative products, the iPod and iPhone being two prime examples. AND, at this point, I’m very proud to say that I’ve never once purchased an Apple product. 🙂

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Finish a Sentence Meme American TV, the Audience, Six Degrees, What about Brian and that general lack of respect.

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. dionysius  |  September 4, 2008 at 6:51 pm

    You have a point that Chrome or G-talk are just like the other ones but I guess it’s good for people to have choices. Most of the differences in software apps are cosmetic, I would say anyway. I’m using Chrome right now and so far I like it, but I also like FireFox and Safari. I don’t like Microsoft Explorer. Google makes some nice software but not always the best (for me anyway) For example I would say WordPress is massively better than blogger.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


September 2008
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

